Smart Clinic vs Curve Dental — which fits your clinic?
Curve Dental is cloud dental software for US and Canadian practices, sold by quote on a 12-month contract. Smart Clinic gives dental and multi-specialty clinics published prices, a free plan, WhatsApp reminders, lab work tracking, a waiting-room TV queue and staff hours, billed monthly.
Features available out of 30 compared, based on each vendor's public information. Partial support isn't counted.
Included with Smart Clinic
Built in, with no add-ons to buy. Some tools unlock on higher plans.
Waiting-room TV queue
A live, privacy-safe queue on a wall screen, so patients know when it's their turn.
Tablet intake
Push intake and consent forms to a clinic tablet. No printing, no retyping.
Staff hours & leave
Work hours, vacations and sick days per employee, plus per-provider earnings reports.
Smart daily briefing
Flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients and unpaid invoices, with one-click actions.
SMS and WhatsApp reminders
WhatsApp first with automatic SMS fallback. Patients confirm straight from the message.
Plans patients accept online
Multi-session treatment plans the patient reviews and accepts from a link.
AI clinical notes
Structured clinical notes from the visit data in one click.
Rooms & equipment
Book rooms and shared devices with each appointment, never double-booked.
iPhone & Android app
Schedule, patient records, notes and tasks for the whole team, on the go.
- You want published prices, a free plan and monthly billing instead of a 12-month contract
- Your patients answer WhatsApp as well as SMS
- You want lab work orders tracked across labs
- You want a waiting-room TV queue, staff hours and staff tasks in the same system
- You practice outside the US and Canada or need a right-to-left interface
- You run a multi-specialty clinic, not only dentistry
- You're a US or Canadian practice that needs built-in imaging and X-ray AI
- You need US dental insurance claims, eligibility and remittance
- You want voice-driven perio charting
Pricing at a glance
| Smart Clinic | Curve Dental | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: 2 users, 50 patients | No |
| Entry paid plan | $29/mo (Starter, 5 users) | Quote only |
| Clinic with 5 staff | $29/mo | Quote only |
| How it's priced | Flat price per clinic, by plan | Custom quote |
| Contract | Monthly or yearly | 12-month term, renews yearly; 90 days' notice |
| Setup fee | None | Implementation fees; amounts not published |
Curve Dental prices are taken from its public website in September 2026 and may have changed. Smart Clinic prices are monthly in USD; yearly billing is cheaper.
Feature comparison
| Booking & scheduling | Smart Clinic | Curve Dental |
|---|---|---|
| Appointment calendar | ||
| Online self-booking | ||
| Cancellation waitlistCurve Dental: short-notice list; staff send openings as a group message | ||
| Permanent free plan |
| Patient communication | Smart Clinic | Curve Dental |
|---|---|---|
| SMS reminders | ||
| WhatsApp remindersSmart Clinic: connect your WhatsApp Business number; SMS fallback is automaticCurve Dental: not mentioned on Curve's website | Not stated | |
| Email confirmations | ||
| Two-way patient messagingSmart Clinic: patient replies are saved to the patient file | ||
| Video consultationsSmart Clinic: runs on your Google Meet or Zoom account | Not stated |
| Clinical | Smart Clinic | Curve Dental |
|---|---|---|
| Patient records & treatment notes | ||
| AI clinical notesSmart Clinic: Professional plan and upCurve Dental: ambient notes with Care+ | ||
| Intake & consent forms with e-signature | ||
| Before & after photos | ||
| Treatment plans patients accept onlineSmart Clinic: patients review and accept the plan from a link | ||
| Prepaid treatment packagesCurve Dental: membership plans with recurring billing; prepaid packages not listed | ||
| Lab & external service ordersSmart Clinic: Professional plan | Not stated | |
| Dental chart | ||
| Face charting for injectables | Not stated |
| Front desk & team | Smart Clinic | Curve Dental |
|---|---|---|
| Waiting-room TV queueSmart Clinic: Professional plan | Not stated | |
| Tablet intake in the waiting roomSmart Clinic: Professional plan | ||
| Rooms & equipment bookingCurve Dental: operatories; equipment isn't listed | ||
| Staff hours, vacations & sick days | Not stated | |
| Per-provider earnings reportsCurve Dental: production reports; per-provider split not stated | ||
| Staff tasks & follow-upsSmart Clinic: with threaded team comments | Not stated | |
| Smart daily briefingSmart Clinic: flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients, no-shows and unpaid invoicesCurve Dental: Snapshot daily dashboard for morning huddles |
| Payments, apps & languages | Smart Clinic | Curve Dental |
|---|---|---|
| Integrated card paymentsSmart Clinic: via Tranzila, for clinics in IsraelCurve Dental: Curve Pay, US only | ||
| Multi-location managementSmart Clinic: Clinic plan | ||
| Staff mobile appCurve Dental: Curve Mobile web app | ||
| Data export | ||
| Right-to-left languages | Not stated |
Available Partial or limited Not available Not stated = not published by the vendor
Where they differ
Pricing and contracts
Curve Dental doesn't publish prices; every practice gets a quote. Its terms set a 12-month initial term that renews yearly, with 90 days' notice to cancel, and implementation fees are charged separately. Smart Clinic publishes every price, from a free plan to $99 a month per clinic, with no setup fee and monthly or yearly billing.
Reminders that reach every patient
Curve sends SMS and email reminders and supports two-way texting. Smart Clinic sends reminders by SMS and WhatsApp, with automatic SMS fallback, and patients confirm or reschedule straight from the message.
More of the clinic in one system
Both chart teeth, send treatment plans patients sign online and run multiple locations. Smart Clinic also tracks lab work orders with price comparison across labs, shows a waiting-room TV queue, and tracks staff hours, vacations, sick days and tasks.
Beyond dentistry
Curve is built only for dental practices in the US and Canada. Smart Clinic runs dental, aesthetic and multi-specialty clinics in multiple languages, including a right-to-left interface.
Common questions
How much does Curve Dental cost?
Curve Dental doesn't publish prices; you request a quote. Its terms describe a 12-month initial term with separate implementation fees. Smart Clinic's plans are published: free, $29, $59 and $99 a month per clinic.
Does Curve Dental work outside the US and Canada?
Curve lists the US and Canada as its markets, and its card payments are US-only. Smart Clinic runs in multiple languages for clinics in other countries, including a right-to-left interface.
What does Smart Clinic include that Curve Dental doesn't list?
WhatsApp reminders, lab work orders with price comparison, a waiting-room TV queue, staff hours with vacations and sick days, staff tasks, a permanent free plan and monthly billing without a 12-month contract.
Can I move from Curve Dental to Smart Clinic?
Yes. Curve offers a self-serve data export in a format that opens in Excel, which you can import into Smart Clinic. Try it on the free plan first.
Try Smart Clinic free
Start on the free plan, import your patient list, and see how reminders and online booking work for your clinic. No card needed.
Curve Dental details come from its public website and help center as of September 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.
Curve Dental is a trademark of its owner. Smart Clinic is not affiliated with Curve Dental.