All comparisons

Smart Clinic vs Dentally — which fits your clinic?

Dentally is cloud dental software built around UK practices and the NHS. Smart Clinic gives dental and multi-specialty clinics a free plan, one price per clinic instead of per surgery, WhatsApp reminders, lab orders with price comparison, a waiting-room TV queue and a staff app for iPhone and Android.

26
Smart Clinic
18
Dentally

Features available out of 30 compared, based on each vendor's public information. Partial support isn't counted.

Included with Smart Clinic

Built in, with no add-ons to buy. Some tools unlock on higher plans.

Waiting-room TV queue

A live, privacy-safe queue on a wall screen, so patients know when it's their turn.

Tablet intake

Push intake and consent forms to a clinic tablet. No printing, no retyping.

Staff hours & leave

Work hours, vacations and sick days per employee, plus per-provider earnings reports.

Smart daily briefing

Flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients and unpaid invoices, with one-click actions.

SMS and WhatsApp reminders

WhatsApp first with automatic SMS fallback. Patients confirm straight from the message.

Plans patients accept online

Multi-session treatment plans the patient reviews and accepts from a link.

AI clinical notes

Structured clinical notes from the visit data in one click.

Rooms & equipment

Book rooms and shared devices with each appointment, never double-booked.

iPhone & Android app

Schedule, patient records, notes and tasks for the whole team, on the go.

Smart Clinic is the better fit if…
  • You want a free plan and one price per clinic, not per surgery
  • Your patients answer WhatsApp as well as SMS
  • You want to send lab orders and compare prices across labs
  • You want a waiting-room TV queue and staff work hours in the same system
  • Your team wants a current staff app on iPhone and Android
  • You run a multi-specialty clinic or need a right-to-left interface
Dentally may suit you if…
  • You're a UK practice with NHS contracts, FP17 claims and UDA tracking
  • You need built-in imaging with AI X-ray analysis
  • You want detailed perio charting

Pricing at a glance

Smart ClinicDentally
Free planYes: 2 users, 50 patientsNo
Entry paid plan$29/mo (Starter, 5 users)£125/mo (Starter, 1 surgery, UK)
Clinic with 5 staff$29/mo£220–£320/mo for 1 surgery (Essentials–Pro)
How it's pricedFlat price per clinic, by planPer surgery, per site; add-ons extra
ContractMonthly or yearlyMonthly or annual, per sales agreement
Setup feeNoneOnboarding packages; prices not published

Dentally prices are taken from its public website in September 2026 and may have changed. Smart Clinic prices are monthly in USD; yearly billing is cheaper.

Feature comparison

Booking & schedulingSmart ClinicDentally
Appointment calendar
Online self-bookingDentally: through Dentally Portal, not on Starter
Cancellation waitlist
Permanent free plan
Patient communicationSmart ClinicDentally
SMS reminders
WhatsApp remindersSmart Clinic: connect your WhatsApp Business number; SMS fallback is automaticDentally: not mentioned on Dentally's websiteNot stated
Email confirmations
Two-way patient messagingSmart Clinic: patient replies are saved to the patient file
Video consultationsSmart Clinic: runs on your Google Meet or Zoom accountNot stated
ClinicalSmart ClinicDentally
Patient records & treatment notes
AI clinical notesSmart Clinic: Professional plan and upDentally: voice dictation with monthly session limits
Intake & consent forms with e-signature
Before & after photos
Treatment plans patients accept onlineSmart Clinic: patients review and accept the plan from a link
Prepaid treatment packagesDentally: membership plans through the Patient Plan Direct partner
Lab & external service ordersSmart Clinic: Professional planDentally: lab status tracking; sending orders isn't listed
Dental chart
Face charting for injectablesNot stated
Front desk & teamSmart ClinicDentally
Waiting-room TV queueSmart Clinic: Professional planDentally: the waiting-room view is a staff listNot stated
Tablet intake in the waiting roomSmart Clinic: Professional plan
Rooms & equipment bookingDentally: rooms; equipment isn't listed
Staff hours, vacations & sick daysDentally: schedules and leave; no clock-in
Per-provider earnings reports
Staff tasks & follow-upsSmart Clinic: with threaded team comments
Smart daily briefingSmart Clinic: flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients, no-shows and unpaid invoicesNot stated
Payments, apps & languagesSmart ClinicDentally
Integrated card paymentsSmart Clinic: via Tranzila, for clinics in Israel
Multi-location managementSmart Clinic: Clinic plan
Staff mobile appDentally: iPhone only, last updated 2021
Data exportDentally: reports to CSV; full export through support
Right-to-left languagesNot stated

Available  Partial or limited  Not available  Not stated = not published by the vendor

Where they differ

Priced per clinic, not per chair

Dentally prices per surgery at each site: £125, £220 or £320 a month for one surgery in the UK, rising with every surgery you add, with onboarding packages priced separately. Smart Clinic charges one flat price per clinic, from a free plan to $99 a month, with no setup fee.

Reminders and patient messaging

Dentally sends SMS and email reminders, with two-way SMS in its inbox. Smart Clinic sends reminders by SMS and WhatsApp, falls back to SMS automatically when WhatsApp can't reach a patient, and patients confirm or reschedule from the message.

Lab work and the front desk

Dentally marks each lab case as sent, received or overdue. Smart Clinic creates the lab order from the treatment plan and compares prices across your labs. It also shows a waiting-room TV queue, tracks staff hours, vacations and sick days, and runs its staff app on iPhone and Android.

Beyond UK dentistry

Dentally is built around UK dentistry and the NHS. Smart Clinic runs dental, aesthetic and multi-specialty clinics in multiple languages, including a right-to-left interface.

Common questions

How much does Dentally cost?

In the UK, Dentally costs £125, £220 or £320 a month for one surgery, excluding VAT, and the price rises with each surgery. Other countries are quoted. Smart Clinic's plans are free, $29, $59 and $99 a month per clinic.

Does Dentally support WhatsApp?

WhatsApp isn't mentioned on Dentally's website; it sends SMS and email reminders. Smart Clinic sends reminders by SMS and WhatsApp.

What does Smart Clinic include that Dentally doesn't list?

WhatsApp reminders, lab orders with price comparison across labs, a waiting-room TV queue, staff work-hours tracking, a staff app for Android and a permanent free plan priced per clinic.

Can I move from Dentally to Smart Clinic?

Yes. Export your patient data from Dentally, as CSV reports or a full export through its support team, and import it into Smart Clinic. Start on the free plan.

Try Smart Clinic free

Start on the free plan, import your patient list, and see how reminders and online booking work for your clinic. No card needed.

Dentally details come from its public website and help center as of September 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.

Dentally is a trademark of its owner. Smart Clinic is not affiliated with Dentally.