Smart Clinic vs Fresha — which fits your clinic?
Fresha is built to fill salon and spa calendars. Smart Clinic is built for clinics: patient records, treatment plans patients accept online, AI clinical notes, a waiting-room TV queue and a smart daily briefing, at one flat price per clinic with no commission on new patients.
Features available out of 30 compared, based on each vendor's public information. Partial support isn't counted.
Included with Smart Clinic
Built in, with no add-ons to buy. Some tools unlock on higher plans.
Waiting-room TV queue
A live, privacy-safe queue on a wall screen, so patients know when it's their turn.
Tablet intake
Push intake and consent forms to a clinic tablet. No printing, no retyping.
Staff hours & leave
Work hours, vacations and sick days per employee, plus per-provider earnings reports.
Smart daily briefing
Flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients and unpaid invoices, with one-click actions.
SMS and WhatsApp reminders
WhatsApp first with automatic SMS fallback. Patients confirm straight from the message.
Plans patients accept online
Multi-session treatment plans the patient reviews and accepts from a link.
AI clinical notes
Structured clinical notes from the visit data in one click.
Rooms & equipment
Book rooms and shared devices with each appointment, never double-booked.
iPhone & Android app
Schedule, patient records, notes and tasks for the whole team, on the go.
- You need clinical records: treatment notes, multi-session plans and a dental chart
- You want AI clinical notes and a smart daily briefing
- You want a waiting-room TV queue and intake on a dedicated clinic tablet
- You don't want to pay a commission on new patients
- You want one flat price per clinic instead of paying per team member
- You want to start on a free plan
- You want new clients from a large consumer marketplace
- You run a salon, spa or beauty business more than a medical clinic
- You want card terminals and Klarna where Fresha Payments is available
Pricing at a glance
| Smart Clinic | Fresha | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: 2 users, 50 patients | No (7-day trial) |
| Entry paid plan | $29/mo (Starter, 5 users) | $19.95/mo in the US (1 person) |
| Clinic with 5 staff | $29/mo | $74.75/mo in the US (5 team members) |
| How it's priced | Flat price per clinic, by plan | Per bookable team member; 20% fee on marketplace new clients in the US (min. $6) |
| Contract | Monthly or yearly | Monthly, cancel anytime |
| Setup fee | None | None on standard plans |
Fresha prices are taken from its public website in September 2026 and may have changed. Smart Clinic prices are monthly in USD; yearly billing is cheaper.
Feature comparison
| Booking & scheduling | Smart Clinic | Fresha |
|---|---|---|
| Appointment calendar | ||
| Online self-booking | ||
| Cancellation waitlistFresha: automatic updates by email, text or WhatsApp | ||
| Permanent free plan |
| Patient communication | Smart Clinic | Fresha |
|---|---|---|
| SMS remindersFresha: 100 free per team member a month in the US, then paid | ||
| WhatsApp remindersSmart Clinic: connect your WhatsApp Business number; SMS fallback is automaticFresha: can try WhatsApp first and fall back to SMS | ||
| Email confirmations | ||
| Two-way patient messagingSmart Clinic: patient replies are saved to the patient fileFresha: chat through the Fresha client app; clients can't reply to automated messages | ||
| Video consultationsSmart Clinic: runs on your Google Meet or Zoom account | Not stated |
| Clinical & aesthetic | Smart Clinic | Fresha |
|---|---|---|
| Patient records & treatment notesFresha: client notes and file uploads; SOAP-style charting isn't listed | ||
| AI clinical notesSmart Clinic: Professional plan and up | Not stated | |
| Intake & consent forms with e-signature | ||
| Before & after photosFresha: stored as file uploads; no compare view | ||
| Treatment plans patients accept onlineSmart Clinic: patients review and accept the plan from a link | Not stated | |
| Prepaid treatment packages | ||
| Lab & external service ordersSmart Clinic: Professional plan | Not stated | |
| Dental chart | Not stated | |
| Face charting for injectables | Not stated |
| Front desk & team | Smart Clinic | Fresha |
|---|---|---|
| Waiting-room TV queueSmart Clinic: Professional plan | Not stated | |
| Tablet intake in the waiting roomSmart Clinic: Professional planFresha: staff pass a device to the client; no kiosk mode | ||
| Rooms & equipment booking | ||
| Staff hours, vacations & sick days | ||
| Per-provider earnings reports | ||
| Staff tasks & follow-upsSmart Clinic: with threaded team comments | Not stated | |
| Smart daily briefingSmart Clinic: flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients, no-shows and unpaid invoices | Not stated |
| Payments, apps & languages | Smart Clinic | Fresha |
|---|---|---|
| Integrated card paymentsSmart Clinic: via Tranzila, for clinics in IsraelFresha: Fresha Payments isn't available in every country | ||
| Multi-location managementSmart Clinic: Clinic plan | ||
| Staff mobile app | ||
| Data export | ||
| Right-to-left languagesFresha: not published for the app | Not stated |
Available Partial or limited Not available Not stated = not published by the vendor
Where they differ
Clinic records vs salon records
Fresha stores client notes, forms and files, and its own medspa guide says it takes time to tailor for medical workflows. Smart Clinic is built around the patient file: treatment notes, multi-session treatment plans, before-and-after photos, prepaid packages, a dental chart and AI clinical notes from the Professional plan.
Fees and pricing model
Fresha charges per bookable team member, $14.95 each on the Team plan in the US, and takes a one-time 20% fee, minimum $6, on new clients it brings through its marketplace there. Card fees apply with Fresha Payments. Smart Clinic charges a flat price per clinic, from free to $99 a month, and takes no commission on new patients.
Messaging
Both send reminders by SMS and WhatsApp, and both can try WhatsApp first and fall back to SMS. Fresha includes 100 free messages per team member a month in the US, then charges per message. Fresha's two-way chat runs through its client app; Smart Clinic saves patient replies to the patient file.
Built for the clinic floor
Fresha tracks timesheets, time off and commissions, and books rooms and equipment. Smart Clinic does all of that too, and adds a waiting-room TV queue, intake on a paired clinic tablet, and a smart daily briefing that flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients and unpaid invoices.
Common questions
Does Fresha still have a free plan?
No. Fresha now offers a 7-day trial on every plan. In the US, plans start at $19.95 a month for one person, or $14.95 per team member on the Team plan. Smart Clinic has a permanent free plan for up to 2 users and 50 patients.
Does Fresha charge commission?
In the US, Fresha charges a one-time 20% fee, minimum $6, on new clients who book you through its marketplace, plus card fees with Fresha Payments. Fees vary by country. Smart Clinic doesn't charge commission on patients.
What does Smart Clinic include that Fresha doesn't list?
Treatment plans patients accept online, AI clinical notes, a dental chart, a waiting-room TV queue, a smart daily briefing and a permanent free plan, with no commission on new patients.
Is Fresha suitable for a medical aesthetics clinic?
Fresha has medspa pages, forms with signatures and file uploads for photos. Clinics that need treatment notes, multi-session plans and AI clinical notes usually want a clinic-first system like Smart Clinic.
Can I move from Fresha to Smart Clinic?
Yes. Fresha exports your client list to Excel or CSV, and you can import it into Smart Clinic. Saved card details can't be exported from Fresha.
Try Smart Clinic free
Start on the free plan, import your patient list, and see how reminders and online booking work for your clinic. No card needed.
Fresha details come from its public website and help center as of September 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.
Fresha is a trademark of its owner. Smart Clinic is not affiliated with Fresha.