Smart Clinic vs Jane — which fits your clinic?
Jane is popular with physio and wellness clinics. Smart Clinic starts free and adds WhatsApp reminders, a native staff app, a waiting-room TV queue, a smart daily briefing, treatment plans patients accept online and a dental chart.
Features available out of 30 compared, based on each vendor's public information. Partial support isn't counted.
Included with Smart Clinic
Built in, with no add-ons to buy. Some tools unlock on higher plans.
Waiting-room TV queue
A live, privacy-safe queue on a wall screen, so patients know when it's their turn.
Tablet intake
Push intake and consent forms to a clinic tablet. No printing, no retyping.
Staff hours & leave
Work hours, vacations and sick days per employee, plus per-provider earnings reports.
Smart daily briefing
Flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients and unpaid invoices, with one-click actions.
SMS and WhatsApp reminders
WhatsApp first with automatic SMS fallback. Patients confirm straight from the message.
Plans patients accept online
Multi-session treatment plans the patient reviews and accepts from a link.
AI clinical notes
Structured clinical notes from the visit data in one click.
Rooms & equipment
Book rooms and shared devices with each appointment, never double-booked.
iPhone & Android app
Schedule, patient records, notes and tasks for the whole team, on the go.
- You want a free plan, not just a demo account
- You want WhatsApp reminders as well as SMS
- Your team wants a native staff app on iPhone and Android
- You want a waiting-room TV queue and a smart daily briefing
- You want patients to accept treatment plans online
- You run a dental or multi-specialty clinic
- You bill insurers directly, for example through TELUS eClaims in Canada
- You want one-to-one video visits included on every plan
- You run payroll for a Canadian clinic
Pricing at a glance
| Smart Clinic | Jane | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: 2 users, 50 patients | No (no trial; demo account) |
| Entry paid plan | $29/mo (Starter, 5 users) | CA$54/mo (1 practitioner, 20 appointments a month) |
| Clinic with 5 staff | $29/mo | CA$219/mo (Practice, 5 full-time practitioners) |
| How it's priced | Flat price per clinic, by plan | Per practitioner, in CAD; admin users free |
| Contract | Monthly or yearly | Monthly |
| Setup fee | None | None; free data import |
Jane prices are taken from its public website in September 2026 and may have changed. Smart Clinic prices are monthly in USD; yearly billing is cheaper.
Feature comparison
| Booking & scheduling | Smart Clinic | Jane |
|---|---|---|
| Appointment calendar | ||
| Online self-booking | ||
| Cancellation waitlistJane: automatic alerts on the Thrive plan | ||
| Permanent free plan |
| Patient communication | Smart Clinic | Jane |
|---|---|---|
| SMS remindersJane: Practice and Thrive plans; availability varies by region | ||
| WhatsApp remindersSmart Clinic: connect your WhatsApp Business number; SMS fallback is automaticJane: not listed on Jane's website | Not stated | |
| Email confirmations | ||
| Two-way patient messagingSmart Clinic: patient replies are saved to the patient fileJane: secure messaging through the patient portal and client app | ||
| Video consultationsSmart Clinic: runs on your Google Meet or Zoom account |
| Clinical & aesthetic | Smart Clinic | Jane |
|---|---|---|
| Patient records & treatment notes | ||
| AI clinical notesSmart Clinic: Professional plan and upJane: 5 free notes a month; unlimited is CA$15 per practitioner | ||
| Intake & consent forms with e-signature | ||
| Before & after photos | ||
| Treatment plans patients accept onlineSmart Clinic: patients review and accept the plan from a linkJane: plans track visits; no online acceptance listed | ||
| Prepaid treatment packagesJane: Thrive plan | ||
| Lab & external service ordersSmart Clinic: Professional planJane: US only, through Fullscript | ||
| Dental chart | Not stated | |
| Face charting for injectablesJane: no built-in face chart; upload a face image to the body chart |
| Front desk & team | Smart Clinic | Jane |
|---|---|---|
| Waiting-room TV queueSmart Clinic: Professional plan | Not stated | |
| Tablet intake in the waiting roomSmart Clinic: Professional planJane: hand a device to the patient; QR self check-in on Thrive | ||
| Rooms & equipment bookingJane: Thrive plan | ||
| Staff hours, vacations & sick daysJane: Practice and Thrive plans | ||
| Per-provider earnings reports | ||
| Staff tasks & follow-upsSmart Clinic: with threaded team comments | ||
| Smart daily briefingSmart Clinic: flags unconfirmed visits, lapsed patients, no-shows and unpaid invoices | Not stated |
| Payments, apps & languages | Smart Clinic | Jane |
|---|---|---|
| Integrated card paymentsSmart Clinic: via Tranzila, for clinics in Israel | ||
| Multi-location managementSmart Clinic: Clinic planJane: unlimited locations on every plan | ||
| Staff mobile appJane: no staff app; the client app is for Canada and the US | ||
| Data export | ||
| Right-to-left languagesJane: not listed on Jane's website | Not stated |
Available Partial or limited Not available Not stated = not published by the vendor
Where they differ
Pricing model
Jane prices per practitioner in Canadian dollars: CA$54 a month for one practitioner with up to 20 appointments, or CA$79 on Practice plus CA$35 for each additional full-time practitioner. Admin staff are free. There's no free plan or trial. Smart Clinic charges a flat price per clinic, from free to US$99 a month.
Reminders and messaging
Jane includes email reminders on every plan and unlimited SMS reminders from the Practice plan, where SMS is available in your region. Its two-way messaging runs through the patient portal and app. Smart Clinic sends reminders by SMS and WhatsApp, with automatic SMS fallback.
Front desk and team
Jane covers timesheets, tasks and compensation reports, with rooms and automatic waitlist alerts on its top Thrive plan. Smart Clinic includes rooms and the waitlist from the Starter plan, and adds a waiting-room TV queue, intake on a paired clinic tablet and a smart daily briefing.
AI notes and telehealth
Jane builds its own AI Scribe: five free notes a month, then CA$15 per practitioner for unlimited use. One-to-one video visits are included on every plan. Smart Clinic includes AI clinical notes from the Professional plan and runs video visits on your own Google Meet or Zoom account.
Apps
Jane has no staff app; the team uses the mobile browser, and its client app works in Canada and the US. Smart Clinic's staff app runs on iPhone and Android.
Common questions
Does Jane have a free plan?
No. Jane doesn't offer a free plan or free trial; you can explore a demo account instead. Its Balance plan costs CA$54 a month for one practitioner. Smart Clinic has a permanent free plan for up to 2 users and 50 patients.
Does Jane support WhatsApp?
WhatsApp isn't listed on Jane's website. Jane sends reminders by email and, on the Practice and Thrive plans, by SMS. Smart Clinic sends reminders by SMS and WhatsApp.
What does Smart Clinic include that Jane doesn't list?
WhatsApp reminders, a waiting-room TV queue, a smart daily briefing, treatment plans patients accept online, a dental chart, a staff app for iPhone and Android and a permanent free plan.
Can I move from Jane to Smart Clinic?
Yes. Jane exports patient lists and appointments to Excel, and you can import them into Smart Clinic. Try it on the free plan first.
Try Smart Clinic free
Start on the free plan, import your patient list, and see how reminders and online booking work for your clinic. No card needed.
Jane details come from its public website and help center as of September 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.
Jane is a trademark of its owner. Smart Clinic is not affiliated with Jane.